National Day Trophy 2016!


L to R: Dyson Parody, David Francis, Justin Broton, Jeremy Cruz (Pic by Alex Nuñez)

The 2016/17 Darts season kicked off recently with the ever popular National Day Trophy.

This is a singles knockout tournament that signals an end to the summer break and gets players in training for the new season.

A good turnout of 31 players ensured healthy competition. The tournament is played as best of 5 legs throughout. Dyson Parody, Justin Broton, Jeremy Cruz and David Francis won their respective board finals to book themselves a place in the semis.

In the first semi-final Dyson proved too strong for David claiming a 3-0 win.The other semi-final was a much closer affair with Jeremy getting the edge over Justin 3-2.

Both players threw some good darts in the final, but it was Dyson Parody who emerged victorious over Jeremy Cruz 3-1 in the final.

A total of 5 x 180’s were thrown during the evening; Justin Broton x 2; Jerome Duarte, Alex Nuñez, Dyson Parody x 1 each.

Highest finish went to Jerome Duarte with a 124 checkout, the only other 100+ finish being from Dyson Parody with a 121.

Report by Darren Olivero, Secretary, Gibraltar Darts Association